[special post] my to-do list

excerpt from another blog of mine. my to-do list.

after the wounds on my legs heal up and stop being irritating, i want to buy myself a pair of birks.

after the skin on my arm gets back to normal, i want to wear my short sleeves.

after the skin on my neck heals, i want to tie up my hair.

after the skin on my face recovers, i want to buy steam cream in their pretty tin pots. i also want to put the aqualabel moisturizing cream on my face. i want to wear make up again.

after everything is over, i just want to be able to enjoy a moment without fidgeting or feeling itchy. i want a good night sleep. i want to be able to jog and sweat without feeling too uncomfortable. i want to shower without feeling scared. i want to wake up without being afraid of what iโ€™ll see. i want to be normal.

i actually have a lot more of to-do stuff, but i can’t recall where i wrote them down.

i’m happy to report that i can now put a tick on all of the above!!!

i’m able to wear my flats that reveals the top of my feet. didn’t get the birks (birkenstock) eventually because i realize i won’t ever wear those out.

i have already worn short sleeves several times!!!

i have also tied up my hair while in hk without worrying about how my neck looks.

i’ve finished my aqualabel cream and have been having fun with my make up products again. have yet to buy the steam cream but that’s not important anymore.

the most important thing is that i have achieved all of the things mentioned in the last point.

I CAN DIE IN PEACE NOW.

no, not yet.๐Ÿ˜›
there’re more things that i wanted to accomplish back then but i can’t recall them now.
i probably noted it down somewhere but it’s so hidden that even i can’t find it right now.
(it’s a good idea to note them all down, you can feel that satisfaction when you tick them off one by one!!!)

it’s funny how they are the simplest things in life.
they are things that were stolen away from me, and it feels good to finally have them back.
(plus i no longer take them for granted now!)
it’s not so much about acquiring new things, but the ability to be able to use the them.
i feel as if i’m in power once again.

anyway!
july has been a very special month for me.
not only because it’s been busy as hell,
but also because i managed to put a tick to 2 very important to-dos.

to attend my graduation ceremony in good skin.

btw, i managed to finished my last semester successfully this april.
scored the best i have ever scored in my entire uni life!
probably have got to do with my changed perspectives after TSW.ย ๐Ÿ˜€


my mother and i.๐Ÿ™‚
she’s the sweetest angel ever.
if you followed my blog long enough you’ll know how much she means to me, how important she was during my entire TSW journey. the support and love she has given me was really something only a mother can give.
she deserves all the honour i’m receiving for graduating, because without her, i wouldn’t have made it through TSW.

and yes, my skin was good that day.
*ticks my to-do list*

side track a little, the graduation ceremony was quite memorable for me too.
i had dinner with my family right before the ceremony, had some beer to get rid of the stress induced by chaos earlier on.
i was seated right in the middle of the entire row.. with 18 fellow graduating course-mates on my left, and another 18 on my right..
what’s the worse that can happen in a 1.5 hour ceremony?
i had to hold my pee for 1.5 hours. T.T i swear my bladder almost exploded.
thank you beer for channelling all that water into my bladder.
sure enough, i was wide awake throughout the whole ceremony.
i had previously envisioned the ceremony to be a boring event that will put me to sleep, but thanks to that growing pressure i was wide awake.
i also think i had a very good kegel workout that evening.
*thumbs up for positive thinking*

to attend my brother’s army event.


proud sister and tired brother.
(he was looking at the other camera btw, too many cameras snapping around)

i have missed my brother’s first ever passing out parade back then in october 2012.
i was still home bound back then.
he was so disappointed that i couldn’t attend, but he didn’t force me to.
he’s sweet like that.
he told me i must attend his next commissioning parade in 9 months time.
i told him “i can’t promise you anything.. i hope i am able to attend too..”.
it’s a sad thing to not be able to be in control of my own life.
on one hand i really hope i get much better by then, but i also don’t want to disappoint myself for hoping too much.
all i can give him is that half-hearted reply.

fast forward to july 2013, here i am, standing next to my brother who looks pretty damn hot (both literally and physically) in his uniform.
(OMG GUYS IN UNIFORM IS <3) (incest alert!!! BUT NO IT’S NOT LIKE THAT.)
my brother had spent weeks rehearsing for the parade, it consists of a lot of marching and some really cool formations.
after an hour of marching, we are finally allowed to enter the parade square to change his epaulette.
i remember tearing up and giving him a hug (and his sweat got transferred to my face, YUCKKK).
tears welled up because it hurts to think of all the hardship that he went through for the past 9 months.
too much empathy going on. HAHAHA this is what TSW do to you!!!

*another tick on my to-do list*

i also toured around singapore with my family.
felt like a tourist, but that’s because i’m experiencing everything for the first time after so long!
feels really exciting to be like a newborn to this world.
i’ll share that tour with you all in the upcoming post!!!

i hope y’all can share my happiness in being able to finally do what i wanted to do.
soon, it’ll be your turn.๐Ÿ˜‰

god bless!

18 thoughts on “[special post] my to-do list

  1. Dear Juliana, you are looking fantastic. it is great to see you living your life. You deserve it. Your family look lovely. they must be so proud of you x

    • thanks louise! my family is very happy for me, in fact they were happier about the graduation more so than myself!

      your turn to live your life is coming too!๐Ÿ˜‰ stay strong!

      xoxo

  2. So happy for you and your “ticks”! Awesome girl. You give hope to all of us still in our early stages! xoxox

  3. Wow! Your post brought tears to my eyes! I am so very happy for you! You deserve this more than anything with all the suffering you have been through! You look amazing!!!! Your mother is a true beauty – inside and out! As for the uniform thing – oh yeah!!!! I know exactly what you mean! My husband is a former Marine – love looking at his picture in uniform – soooooo hot! Congrats on graduating! It must feel so amazing! I remember my graduation very well – it felt like the weight of the world was off my shoulders just to have that degree! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • tracy, for me the weight left my shoulder when i complete all my projects and finished my exams. the graduation ceremony was just the icing on the cake.
      ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for sharing my happiness! i’m glad it make you happy. hehe! and my mother would be elated to hear what you said about her.๐Ÿ˜‰ i’ll thank you for her.

      hehehehehe i guess we have the uniform fetish. *smirk*

  4. Congratulations!!! Such a beautiful family.๐Ÿ™‚
    I want to thank you for creating this blog. Even though my situation was a bit different (I have rosacea) you are my hero and inspiration. First month was really bad, I read your blog every night, it was the only source of hope. Stay well and celebrate all that life brings!!!

    • thank you so much jo.. :’) i hope you’re doing much better now..! i want to let you know that i appreciate you for reading my blog, it makes my day to know that i have given you hope.

      stay strong, and god bless!

  5. Your posts really give me much needed encouragement. Serving my NS now and my skin really cannot be worse. Undergoing TSW and feeling really depressed everyday. Shutting out close friends and also not being able to do the things I like. I hope I will improve as time goes by!

    • hey there! glad to be able to give you some form of help! i can understand how depressing it feels. but thankfully, you’re serving NS right now and not working full time elsewhere. you can be a hermit for this 2 years and no one will say a thing! hang in there! things will definitely improve with time!

Leave a Reply

